Adventures in gem setting

Jewelry, Jewelry making, Rings

I started a course in gem setting this weekend. It’s intense and my head was spinning by the end of the first 6 1/2 hour class. Lots of note-taking, listening, watching the instructor set an oval faceted stone in a bezel setting and learning. I’m SO excited about it and can’t wait until the next class, when we get started on setting various stones in various types of settings. The instructor’s a very funny, very experienced diamond setter, and he has a LOT to teach us in seven short weeks. Will keep you posted….

Meanwhile, as I’ve just finished up some other work, I can get back to the fun stuff in my studio! Here are a couple of rings I’ve just made. A green freeform ocean jasper in sterling:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and a lustrous pyrite cab, also set in sterling:

 

What do you think?

